The Colossus Rises

Image

Peter Lerangis didn’t ring a bell, until Martin raved about “The Heroes of Olympus”.

Rick Riordan’s novels didn’t touch on the mythical continent of Atlantis, as well as the Seven Wonders of the Ancient World, my course-mate pointed out. This was where Peter Lerangis came in, he added. Or so he thought. I would like to give the New York-born author a benefit of a doubt, but Martin’s insistence that Lerangis might have read Riordan’s books prior to his writing of his own series might be true at all.

I read “The Colossus Rises” during Reading Week, in between my break from the reading list. Lerangis’s premise was intriguing, about Atlantis not being lost at all. The power that made it a great civilisation was preserved, hidden in seven different places. The Seven Wonders of the Ancient World. The first book brought three teenagers to the Dodecanese, where the Colossus of Rhodes once stood. It was believed that an earthquake didn’t destroy it. I almost forgot that these three teenagers, three lads and a gal, were descendants of the people of Atlantis. Martin believed that the similarity between these youngsters and the teenagers of Camp Half-Blood was no coincidence, but I haven’t read Riordan’s novels.

“The Colossus Rises” didn’t excite me much, but this was the first of the series. I was really looking forward to the next book, “Lost in Babylon”, as I was curious about Lerangis’s imagination, on how he would depict Babylon.

Leave a comment